Moving with Justice

To say the very least, the past 48 hours have been a challenge.

I am not the first person to say it nor am I the last, and this toxic process will not end anytime soon. Forty eight hours ago I was convinced that the chaos and negativity of this election cycle would end rapidly once the logical candidate was chosen, but when that didn’t pan out I’ve still been just as anxious, just as glued to the news, just as tuned into voices of distress and anger and protest across the nation.

On election night I started thinking extensively about value systems and the things we individually seek to do in the world. I work with a fair trade apparel company and it warmed my heart to think that there was a lot of nobility in working to improve conditions for families, communities and our planet the world over. However, a question did start to eat at me–what is it all worth?

With an election fueled on hatred and virtually half of the nation feeling vitalized by it, what value is there in kindness? In trying to enforce positive change or justice even in small, tangible ways across the world? I suppose today is the day to start to pull up my bootstraps and start focusing on the What’s Next, but I imagine it is very difficult for the 2nd half of the country to heal their own ideological wounds right now.

Even with sporadic episodes of weeping yesterday, I started to research solar panels. I see them around New Orleans often, even in places one wouldn’t expect, and realized the reason they’re becoming so prevalent is because they have become pretty affordable and make electrical bills evaporate. I sought out and donated to EarthJustice, a legal nonprofit organization that works in D.C. that initiates litigation that protects and supports our land, water and animals. I called my congressman, and I have never done that before. I went to a local church to listen to the pastor speak about her own dismay.

I suppose what is important to feel in this time, even if it is uncertainty and a degree of disallusionment, is that we’re all still breathing. We all have to keep working. Our values didn’t change overnight and they are not doing so anytime soon.

Justice and dignity for people and our planet is something to always fight for. I suppose, deep down, even in the darkest, most unexpected time, I still haven’t lost hope. I hope you haven’t either.

nolarising

Leave a Reply

