Dents

I’ve been fluctuating between elation and a creeping anxiety that the bubble is going to burst.

I just got a call from my boyfriend that on the way to a very important event for his career that the hood of our car flew up and smashed the windshield while he was driving on the highway.

He’s okay and told me not to leave work. He drove where he needs to be and he’s doing what he needs to do. But the creeping persists–car accidents, sickness, random acts of violence. I’ve been feeling pelvic pain. What if I’m really sick? What if one of us ends up in the hospital for an extended period of time? What if everything we’ve been building just falls away like a sandcastle, washed away like it never existed at all?

Worse, how can I strip the fear that I’ll lose the things most important to me?

Leave a Reply

